some of you may have noticed that if you write a pm and then change your mind about sending it , for what ever reason, the pm can still be collected by the proposed recipient, this has happened to us twice just recently , once to fecklar when we thought perhaps he had collected it just as we were hitting the delete button, and today to mal when we deleteed the pm at around two am this morning and yet he still managed to pick it out of his inbox hours later,
admin take a look before some serious damage is done
and see if you can pop an edit button back on the pm system
it worked fine before
wrats
xx
is there an edit function?
we have one of your test mails in our inbox now gem please confirm you have deleted it on here and then we will try to open it
ty
staggy
we see you have gone off line, we are opening your pm
staggy
xx
Its worth noting that if peeps have email notifications on then they would always see messages as soon as they are sent even if they are subsequently deleted.
The pm/mail system is being revamped at the moment as the system as was until this week was causing issues with server load, its being restructured to make it more efficient and should include some additional features.
We all do it and regret it, but Isn't it far better to be sure that you don't send an offensive or misleading pm in the first place. ie have a break and think about it before sending or even writing.
im told the system isnt ggoing to incorporate a delete facility like we once had or an edit facility , thats if i read the pm correctly
Martin did i?
staggy.....
xx
Its a genuine question. Is it a reference to JC?
Fair enough little gem. Advice taken. Its over.
Anyway have the admin come up with anything about this issue?
I thought it was only advanced stuff like Outlook that you could do fancy things with.
When I worked in IT as an administrator I left the read/receipt button on after posting a company email. Had to delete thousands of receipts, wazzock!
We are working to simplify the mail system and other features on this site, a lot of the average users already struggle to use the forum basd mail system. We will have a normal default setting that will strip everything out to make it a more basic and user friendly system.
You will be able to keep what you have (more or less) as an advanced setting but the delete or edit past point of being posted is not a function that we want built into the advanced or basic system.
This is not a current feature on this site, we are looking out for members as a whole and the feedback is the mail system is already over complicated.
I am locking this thread as you understand the position now and it has been done to death!!